Malted grains, what's what?

all about mashing and fermenting grains

Malted grains, what's what?

Postby DaveZ » Fri Jul 26, 2013 6:05 pm

For a newbie it's all a bit confusing. Is there an easy way to tell what's what when I go online shopping for a malted grain? A recipe may call for malted barley and malted rye, but I go to an online store and there's 700 varieties of malts. I'd love to try mountain moonshiners recipe but have no friggen idea what to buy :handgestures-thumbdown:
DaveZ

equipment: 5 plate FSD bubbler with gin basket and packed rock section on a 50L, 4800W keg

Re: Malted grains, what's what?

Postby philthy » Fri Jul 26, 2013 6:29 pm

keep researching threads olmate and it will click after abit. Im a newbie also son, the fellas here have forgotten more than ill ever know ^:)^ . im bout to put one down yeeeeehaaaa :handgestures-thumbupleft:
philthy

Postby Kimbo » Fri Jul 26, 2013 6:39 pm

Hi Dave,
there are 4 main types of grain we use.
they are: Corn, Rye, Barley and wheat. These can be malted or not ( they will say on the packet)
when you come across things like Pilsner, Chrystal, caramalt,etc these are all Malted Barley, roasted/toasted/prepared in different ways to produce different flavours.
I hope this helps :handgestures-thumbupleft:
Kimbo
Lifetime Member

equipment: 4" bubbler with a 6"inline thumper

Postby philthy » Fri Jul 26, 2013 6:42 pm

told ya :laughing-rolling:
philthy

Postby DaveZ » Fri Jul 26, 2013 7:21 pm

So most of the malts will be barley then? I've been looking at pilsner, ale etc etc with no clue as to what it is. The malted wheat always seams to say wheat in the name, and I've seen malted rye, the rest must be just 101 variations on barley? So how do you know what to choose? What's a good one to choose if you're just after the conversion ability?

Thanks for the assistance guys :handgestures-thumbupleft:

Dave.
DaveZ

equipment: 5 plate FSD bubbler with gin basket and packed rock section on a 50L, 4800W keg