Changing the flavour via mashing

all about mashing and fermenting grains

Changing the flavour via mashing

Postby Linny » Sun Nov 03, 2013 4:12 pm

I started stilling first ... was always if you put this much sugar in ,, you get this out ... then i started to proceed onto AG mashes , which was a massive improvement,,, now dont get me wrong i really like the progress which ive been going , but recently i started brewing beer and decided to dive straight into the AG way of things , since i thought how hard could it be ,,, LOL. Always trying to improve i can see techniques ive used in distilling and moved them to beer, but with AG beer there is a whole body vs fermentables and my understanding is that more body means more flavour as well....
Now i taking what ive learnt from beer , i taste my spirits and i notice that it has a very sweet , caramel flavour ,,, originally i thought it was my cuts. but it doesnt seem to change it but im starting to think its the way i mash... usually i multi step mash @ 50, 62, 70 .... then ferment on the grain ( I also seem to think this is part of the sweet flavour ) . Thinking if i just mash @ 62*C for the whole time and not multi then i will get more fermentable sugars vs more body.

Im still building my new still at the moment but ive taken the time beer brewing always finding more , what are your thoughts as I really want to start a discussion about it hopefully asking more questions as they come as i know some of you guys have been doing this a very long time.
Linny

equipment: 4 Plate 3" Glass Bubbler - 50L Boiler
50L BIAB Temp Controlled Mash Tun

3" Carter Head Soon to Come

Re: Changing the flavour via mashing

Postby crow » Sun Nov 03, 2013 4:43 pm