All Grain Bourbon

all about mashing and fermenting grains

All Grain Bourbon

Postby Brendan » Mon Jan 27, 2014 12:09 pm

So I’ve put together this thread on how I do my all grain bourbon. I’m not an expert by any means, but it is just a collaboration of some of my research and experience, and a bit of a guide for the novice really wanting to have a go. I have thrown in pics of one of my mashes, and some videos as a guide for some to get an idea of the mash consistency at different stages.

Now the first thing to start with is, all grain bourbon takes a lot of work to get to the product stage, it is not simple by any means and takes a lot of hours agitating mash, watching temperatures, waiting for conversion, and straining solids out of the wash. But for those that really want to do it, the product is definitely worth the trouble.
If you do further reading and research you will find that there are many ways to do this such as various mashing methods, and many ways to cook your corn, but you can make it work for you depending on the equipment you have available.

There are several laws relating to the production and marketing of Bourbon:
1. Distilled from a mash that at least 51% corn.
2. Distilled to no more than 80%ABV
3. Aged in brand new charred oak barrels.
4. Put into the barrel for ageing at no more than 62.5%ABV
5. Bottled at or above 40%ABV.
6. Produced in the United States.
7. Bourbon has no ageing requirements, but there is a classification called ‘Straight Bourbon” which requires at least 2 years ageing. If straight bourbon is aged less than 4 years, it must also be clearly labelled.
8. There is also the label of ‘Kentucky Straight Bourbon’ if all of the above criteria are met, and it is produced in the state of Kentucky.