help with LME,flour and grain bill

all about mashing and fermenting grains

help with LME,flour and grain bill

Postby Thumpa » Wed Mar 19, 2014 10:37 pm

okay fellas i have a couple of questions to ask and any help will be greatly appreciated as i am only new to this.i have made a mac whiskey and a bourboun whiskey from the harvest to moonshine book and both have turned out great. it never ceases to amaze me the time and effort you all take to help each other on this site and my sucess so far has been all thanks to you guys a big thankyou again :clap: ^:)^ so here are my questions i have just not been able to find any information relating to these so a quick run down,a link or any advice would really really make my day thanks heaps in advance. :handgestures-thumbupleft:

1. How much flour would be eqaul to 1kg of grain? ( i was thinking which is dangerous :laughing-rolling: that flour would be more concentrate than grain therfore you would need less flour than grain eg... .5kg flour = 1kg of grain)

2. Same question but how much LME would be eqaul to 1kg of malted grain?

3. I am also having trouble getting my head around grain bill percentages and how they work them out :angry-banghead: eg. when they say 60% rye 20%barley 20% corn how would i work that out for a 60l wash and how much malt would be needed.?

sorry i no the 3rd question is very broad but i have the mashing process down but just not being able to work out the amount. Just verry keen to experiment. thanks for taking the time and effort to read this and :text-thankyoublue: once again in advance.
Thumpa

equipment: Have built reflux head. Finished building pot still with double thumpers

Re: help with LME,flour and grain bill

Postby bayshine » Wed Mar 19, 2014 11:08 pm

mate i can't give to much advice except to have a look at brendons all grain bourbon thred and you will get a good idea of how to calculate sugars from grains :-B