BIAB whiskey wash

all about mashing and fermenting grains

BIAB whiskey wash

Postby markus » Mon Jun 30, 2014 3:24 pm

I'm completely new at this all grain business, with about 10 mashes under my belt I thought I'd post my doings so far. And hopefully change a few people's minds who think that all grain is too hard and will cost too much in equipment.
I've been using BIAB, My setup is nothing fancy but it does the job.
Remember I'm no all grain expert, I still have plenty to learn.
My aim is to make the finest quality whiskey possible.
Here's what I use and how I do it.

Equipment Used

50 litre keg with top cut out
Biab
Stirrer or long wooden spoon
Accurate thermometer
Gas burner
Esky Around 20 L
Blankets
Strainer
Wort chiller

ingredients

31 litres of water
4 kg pils malt
4 kg peated malt
Safspirit whiskey yeast 2 dessert spoons.

Method
I bring 31 litres of water to about 53 degrees. Place biab in keg and gradually add grain while constantly stirring. Trying to avoid big clumps, by adding it slowly.
Wash is now somewhere around the 50 deg mark.
This is the protein or protease rest or whatever the fuck you want to call it. Ive read that this helps reduce puking?I hold it here for 20 mins. I don't bother covering.

After 20 mins I remove the bag and place it in the esky. Turn the gas back on and bring the wash up to 66-67 degrees. Turn off heat. Put the grain bag back in and give a really good stir to even out the temp. Add in whats drained out from the Bag in the esky. Being Careful not to aerate wash. I use a bowl and gently pour back into my keg. It usually ends up around 62-63 degrees..
Place lid on and wrap tight in good blankets. I leave for 1 hour and check temp.