i need a new still, any advice?

Just starting out and need some advise? then post it in here.

i need a new still, any advice?

Postby guy_smily85 » Tue Jun 20, 2017 7:52 pm

i currently have a 3" 1m long reflux still sitting on a keg at the moment and im looking to build a 4" column on a 150l pressure vessel, i have never used bubble plates before and i am just wondering how well they work, and i will also need an automatic controller to be built (either happy with a bought one or homemade).

if any one has done anything similar id love to hear how it has worked.

thanks...Guy
guy_smily85

equipment: reflux still

Re: i need a new still, any advice?

Postby db1979 » Tue Jun 20, 2017 8:01 pm

Bubblers are fantastic, they may look complicated to run but really aren't that difficult. 150 L boiler sounds like it will be too big for a 4" still (I think the run time will be painfully long), but I'm just guessing at that. Someone else may give you better advice. Maybe for that size boiler you'll want a 6" still. That then opens up other questions, such as how much are you planning on making and how much electricity (unless you're using gas) can you throw at it (safely)?

What are you planning on making?

Many guys run they're bubblers without controllers. 4" runs well on 2400 W.
db1979

equipment: Eve - 4" x 4 plate solid state bubbler (sieve plates), 330 mm packed section on a keg boiler with 2 x 2000 W elements.
Currently having a makeover: 2" x 4 plate solid state bubbler (1" bubble caps, no sight glasses...maybe not for much longer!) on a bain-marie boiler.

Postby Lowie » Tue Jun 20, 2017 8:16 pm

Hey mate,