Cost effectiveness of distilling...

Just starting out and need some advise? then post it in here.

Cost effectiveness of distilling...

Postby thedapperbenz » Fri Apr 20, 2018 9:22 am

Hey all, complete newb here.

First I understand this is a hobby, so shouldn't really come down to cost/benefit, as hobbies tend to cost a lot of money (I restore European cars as a hobby... don't even ask about cost).

However given I don't mind a drink (generally around a bottle a week), plus I'm just about finished restoring my last car.. I'm now looking at something else to get into. I find distilling pretty fascinating.

I'm an American Whiskey fan and appreciate a good spiced rum as well, hence I'm focusing on a pot still setup.. something relatively compact as well (maybe 25-50L boiler).

Looking at costs of each run (not including setup/equipment costs), is the yield great enough to justify the means if you were to look at it from a pure cost perspective?

I know there are about a million variables that influence yield/efficiency, however if I try and do some really basic estimates I get the following:

25L wash (eg. rum wash: dextrose, molasses, carbon, yeast) $46
Stripping run (Conditioner) $3.50 - Yield probably about 17L taking everything except the bottom of the fermenter and the foreshots)
Spirit run (Conditioner) $3.50 - Yield guestimate 3-3.5L @ 40%, dilute to 37.5% = 3.2-3.7L (avg. 3.45L)
Electricity/Water $8

Cost: $61 / Yield 3.45L

Variables aside.. is this overly optimistic for a basic pot still setup? Are these the types of costs you guys/gals see, or am I way off?
thedapperbenz

equipment: 2" copper Pot Still / shotty
50L keg boiler (electric)
Hopes & dreams

Re: Cost effectiveness of distilling...

Postby woodduck » Fri Apr 20, 2018 10:12 am

Get rid of the dextrose, carbon and conditioner cause you won't need them if you do cuts and not use turbo yeast.