First modular system build

Just starting out and need some advise? then post it in here.

First modular system build

Postby Scubadriver » Sat Jun 29, 2019 10:18 pm

Hi All,

Been lurking around here for a while and reading heaps but finally decided to take the plunge and build my first still. I was going to just buy one..... but that removes half the fun and the learning of new skills. I work in the science field, I love Gin, I love tinkering with things, and love building new projects so this seems like the perfect hobby!

My farther in law is a sheet metal welder by trade so he will help with any welding needs and i work next to a scrap yard which has been selling me copper pipe for $5/Kg :handgestures-thumbupleft:

I want to build something modular so that it can be upgraded in the future when more funds are available, I also like the idea of adding an offset carter head at a later date too if i get hooked. This still will be for running neutrals and making Gin.
I have done a quick sketch (attached hopefully) of whats in my head at the moment and also incorporated some copper pipe sizes that i already have.
MyStill.jpg

I have a few questions on my setup:
Should i use a 4" Ferrule on the keg and use the 4" to 3" reducer that i have or just go straight 3" from the keg?

If i do use a 4" ferrule plus my reducer and want to pack the bottom section of the column, can you buy a 4" strainer so my packing wont fall out into the boiler?

Is the 3" 500mm column and 3" 300mm dephlegmator long enough, or should I wait until my scrap man has some longer pieces?

I would like to hear some cheaper ways of getting from the 3" column to the PC, should i even bother including the lyne arm extension piece and how long should it be? That 3" x 3" x 2" Tee is $95.

Looking forward to hearing your expert thoughts!

Thanks
Mat
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Scubadriver

equipment: Pot still