First Run Planning - Objective: High Qauality & % Neutral

Just starting out and need some advise? then post it in here.

First Run Planning - Objective: High Qauality & % Neutral

Postby rvn » Thu Oct 24, 2019 4:54 pm

Hi All,

I'm set up with a 2" Boka & 2" Pot both from FSD and have only done the sacrificial run through the Boka (so a total noob).

I was a little rough / vague with my sacrificial but I noticed the high % is what I'm essentially wanting to discard? (fores?) and it's downhill %, uphill temp from there...

My first objective coming into this is to produce a high%, clean neutral to replace the Polish (95%) stuff I'm buying 70$ @500ml. (secondary will be to make some Gin etc)

So my question is, how do go about getting the good quality*, "high%" neutral? (obviously not by going straight through the reflux like the sac. run...)

*I'm not going to be too pedantic about how "smooth" this is to begin with as it won't be consumed in large doses but it does have to be fit for human consumption at small levels.

Am I best looking doing a "stripping run" (through the pot?) and then running that (diluted to 40%) through the reflux (spirit run)? Would this mean the % is automatically going to be coming out higher of the reflux (spirit run) higher?

Would this be a good guide: http://www.aussiedistiller.com.au/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=7304&start=40#p142450 ?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Cheers
rvn

equipment: FSD 2" Boka
FSD 2" Pot

Re: First Run Planning - Objective: High Qauality & % Neutra

Postby Carol » Fri Oct 25, 2019 12:47 pm

Hi rvn
I think I have posted a description of my spirit run in the FSD Boka thread. ( I have the FSD 2" pot and boka).

I have 3 x 25 litre fermenters currently doing Teddys Fast Fermenting Vodka.
I run each wash through the pot still ( only one copper roll in the column) on full power down to about 20%. This takes me around 2 hours for each run.