ultra pure still help needed

Just starting out and need some advise? then post it in here.

Postby totalnoob » Mon Feb 04, 2013 5:34 pm

I'm hoping someone will have the patience to deal with a total noob here. I got a second hand ultra pure still and need some pointers. I made a mash from plums and water and a tablespoon of bakers yeast. It bubbled up and settled so after 10 days or so, so I strained it and put it in the still, connected the water hoses and plugged it in. The temperature eventually went up but it didnt stabilise at 80 degrees or anything like that, just went to 100 C and sat there. I was getting stuff out from around 70 C and up and at 100 C it steadily sputtered out. Then green watery stuff came out of the top and the stuff sputtering out the outlet pipe was this foul green colour. So I'm thinking I'll have to pull it apart and clean it?

It would be great if someone could explain how this still works. What is the steelo looking stuff I can see at the base of the tower and what function does it serve? If I pull it all apart (should I pull it all apart?) will it be possible to put it all back together again, as this still is a manufactured still? Totally baffled here! :(

Totalnoob
totalnoob

equipment: ultra pure still

Re: ultra pure still help needed

Postby MacStill » Mon Feb 04, 2013 5:41 pm

Welcome,

We have quite a few members using the same still, I'm sure they'll be along shortly to help you out.

For the time being don't pull anything apart.

Cheers.
MacStill
Lifetime Member

equipment: Anything I choose :P

Postby BackyardBrewer » Mon Feb 04, 2013 5:46 pm

Ok I have one of these:

1. Don't pull the packing out, this is there to condense the spirit vapour back into liquid (the reflux action)

2. A tablespoon of yeast sounds like nowhere near enough