Dextrose yeast carbon when is it ready

Just starting out and need some advise? then post it in here.

Dextrose yeast carbon when is it ready

Postby Colin Smith » Mon Apr 01, 2013 1:00 am

I made my first wash for my T500.. I used alcotec 48 turbo yeast , carbon and 9 kgs of dextrose ... The airlock has stopped after 4 days.. But the wash is still black .. I'm a total noob and I don't know when I should put in the turbo clear .. Can I do a hydrometer reading or apv reading while black carbon is floating around or what.. On YouTube videos the carbon is sitting on the bottom of the fermenter when it's ready.. Should I wait until this happens before I put in the turbo clear.. Please help me and don't give me too much shit.. I know I sound stupid..
Colin Smith

equipment: T500 novice

Re: Dextrose yeast carbon when is it ready

Postby Linny » Mon Apr 01, 2013 5:14 am

Dont sound stupid , we all know you gotta start from somewhere :handgestures-thumbupleft: and we all tend to start at the Local Home Brew Store where they flog this stuff... Problem is that theres no real instructions .... Ive only ever ran 1 turbo which happened to be my first and last so im no expert. I know the packet says 48 hours but there will be still some activity ( is the surface still bubbling ? , have you given it a shake ? ) ... theres no harm in giving it a week as long as its sealed. ive left a UJSM wash before 8 weeks before running it. just try not to open it too much.

Head over to the new guys section, have a read of cuts and double distilling etc etc , I recommend you to run it so you have something to learn with and compare it to LOL. Have a read of the the tried and proven recipes , allbran and TPW washes are great tasting and 1/4 of the price of a 48 hr Turbo . If in doubt ask, i know theres guys here that do run a t500
Linny

equipment: 4 Plate 3" Glass Bubbler - 50L Boiler
50L BIAB Temp Controlled Mash Tun

3" Carter Head Soon to Come

Postby MacStill » Mon Apr 01, 2013 10:32 am