Corn Distillate

Just starting out and need some advise? then post it in here.

Corn Distillate

Postby Konzo » Mon Sep 02, 2013 11:51 pm

So I am new to the mashing side of things, I have been doing a bit of research and wish to discuss corn distillate. From what I can see on youtube etc is purely corn ground and mashed, sugar and yeast added, then distilled. Is this correct? Does it always have corn and sugar?
Konzo

equipment: 6" Plated Mac Still on 200L "Mr Squiggle" Boiler :-)

Re: Corn Distillate

Postby MacStill » Mon Sep 02, 2013 11:56 pm

So you want a good corn drop hey ?

Check this thread out

Traditional Appalachian (U.S.) sweet mash corn whiskey

Yeah baby :music-deathmetal:
MacStill
Lifetime Member

equipment: Anything I choose :P

Postby Konzo » Tue Sep 03, 2013 12:11 am

That looks good. Ill read it a few more times to get my head around it.

I was thinking of making a Canadian club style whiskey, with light char barrels.

So my thinking would be from what I've read.

85% corn distillate
15% of fermented rye, rye malt and barley malt.

Thoughts?
Konzo

Postby Andy » Tue Sep 03, 2013 12:31 am

That grain bill will make a nice bourbon.

Canadian club would have far more rye. I would go as far as saying a cc clone would b 50% rye. But I'm yet to find a good recipe. There should b a rye bread recipe on the forum u could try. Maybe blend with the bill u suggested
Andy

equipment: Copper Potstill on a 50L keg boiler with a 2200w element.
Doesn't get more simple then that

Postby Konzo » Tue Sep 03, 2013 12:49 am

From what I have read and seen, Canadian Whisky is made up of 80-90% corn distillate, with fermented and malted rye the next biggest ingredients, followed lastly by barely malt.

So guess the trick would be to find out exactly which is best combo. So hence why I was thinking 85% corn distillate, with maybe 2-3% barley malt, the remainder the rye :-)
Konzo

Postby Dominator » Tue Sep 03, 2013 7:19 am