Digital PH meter

Just starting out and need some advise? then post it in here.

Digital PH meter

Postby newbiboozer » Mon Oct 07, 2013 10:59 am

Can anyone recommend a digital PH meter. Are any of the ones on eBay any good. Also any tips on using them and do they work on rum washes.
newbiboozer

equipment: 4" modular plated column in very early stages.

Re: Digital PH meter

Postby Hava » Mon Oct 07, 2013 1:45 pm

Hi there, I'm a newb, but using an Aqua One ph reader, seems to be reliable so far.
Hava

equipment: Once you've run a FSD there is no going back!!!

Postby wynnum1 » Mon Oct 07, 2013 2:38 pm

Does a PH meter have a limited shelf life and the less its used the more it will cost for each test .
wynnum1

Postby Hava » Mon Oct 07, 2013 4:08 pm

After a while you will need to re-calibrate your PH reader, with a solution specific to your digital PH reader, you'd need to research the cost of reader and the calibration solution and how often you intend on using it to work out if it is cheaper.

The best thing about the digital is that it's not colour in a solution or the tabs that change colour, especially for a molasses wash it is great.

This is a ebay link to the one I a using, there are plenty cheaper available, I was just impatient and bought it at the local pet store. http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/AQUA-ONE-PH- ... 52b&_uhb=1
Hava

equipment: Once you've run a FSD there is no going back!!!

Postby Kimbo » Mon Oct 07, 2013 7:18 pm

Hava wrote:After a while you will need to re-calibrate your PH reader, with a solution specific to your digital PH reader, you'd need to research the cost of reader and the calibration solution and how often you intend on using it to work out if it is cheaper.

The best thing about the digital is that it's not colour in a solution or the tabs that change colour, especially for a molasses wash it is great.