How to pack my pot still with copper mesh

Just starting out and need some advise? then post it in here.

Postby Robj » Thu Nov 07, 2013 5:25 pm

Hi all, I'm brand new to this, I started with the reflux t500 but didn't realise that I wasn't going to perfect whiskey with this, I've since built a copper pot still head that fits on my t500 boiler, I've done a vinegar run and a few steam runs with the Liebig grafting, everything works well. I've fermented an AG mash and was pleased with the results, ran it but forgot to make the cuts, so ended up with about 2l @ 38 ABV, then I realised that I have no packing in at all. The flow of alcohol was much faster than the t500 but wen I tried to slow it down with the water flow it started to puff out steam ( I assumed this was dangerous). Here is a picture of my attempt.

Image the inner tube in the Liebig is crimped @ 90 deg angles every 40mm, I have some fine gauze copper mesh but don't know wether to squash it in or cut loads of circles.
Robj

equipment: Pot still and reflux

Postby Robj » Thu Nov 07, 2013 5:26 pm

Sorry I was not meant to post that, I was gona say I'd b grateful for any input, cheers all
Robj

Re: How to pack my pot still with copper mesh

Postby Andy » Thu Nov 07, 2013 5:27 pm

water flow doesn't control anything with a pot still. the steam that was escaping was alcohol vapour.
i wouldnt bother packing it.
Andy

equipment: Copper Potstill on a 50L keg boiler with a 2200w element.
Doesn't get more simple then that

Postby crow » Thu Nov 07, 2013 5:35 pm

You increase the coolant flow to increase knock down of vapor (no steam) . The more water you have running through it the faster you can run it. with a pot still you will need to run it through twice , once to strip and then again for a spirit run so there is no need to do cuts when stripping :handgestures-thumbupleft:
Put this stuff aside until you run another wash the same and then you should have enough to do do a spirit run
crow