Stuck CFW ferment??

Just starting out and need some advise? then post it in here.

Stuck CFW ferment??

Postby viking » Sun Mar 16, 2014 11:21 pm

Hey All,

Just started up my new 4 inch bubbler from 5 Star and the yield seem a little low. I'm trying to work out what I have done wrong. I followed Macs instructions under the plated column section.

About 3 weeks ago I put down 190L of Corn Flake Whiskey wash. I didn't take any gravity readings. I'm lazy I guess.

Put approx. 40 litres of wash into the 50 litre Keg. Cranked it up on 2 x 2400 elements, once running I only used one. Foreshots gone. Start taking heads in 300ml jars - approx. 92 %. At the second jar it dropped to about 90%. then third 70%, then sharp drop to 50%. Couldn't work it out so I shut down for the night.

If I had taken gravity readings, I could of identified if the wash had fully fermented - lesson learnt.
From reading what others are getting - my yield is very low.

I'm new to this distilling gig, but I didn't think I could be driving the rig so bad.
I was thinking, maybe the wash hasn't fully fermented, or got stuck. Should I pitch some more yeast? I've got some of the EC1118 in the fridge.

I've also got 190L of TPW and 190L of molasses wash to run. I had wanted to run all the same wash through.

Any thoughts fellas???
viking

equipment: FSD 4 inch SSG 5 plates with packed section and 100L FSD boiler.

Re: Stuck CFW ferment??

Postby Brendan » Sun Mar 16, 2014 11:25 pm

I can't be sure in your situation, but I had similar problems when I first started using my plated column...all came down to learning how to run it properly and balance power with cooling water...also ensuring the temp of your cooling water doesn't rise too significantly if recirculating, as you would be changing your reflux ratio...
Brendan

equipment: 4.99L Essential oil extractor

Postby Smbjk » Mon Mar 17, 2014 7:10 am