aging in barrels

Discuss everything about oaking and aging here

aging in barrels

Postby Pugdog1 » Tue Jul 16, 2013 9:17 pm

hi all

Im fairly new to the aging side of things and have a few questions as I want to age a barrel of rum and or whisky for his 18th (just born recently).

first question how big of a barrel will I need to prevent over oaking as this is obviously a long period of time it will sit?

2nd how often do they require topping up and how do I go about it?

3rd what % do I age at and will adding tails etc make huge impacts on flavour when aging for so long?

4th what kind of charring or toasting should I get if I buy a new barrel from a reputable supplier?

5th where can I buy new barrels? qld would be best as im located there and imaging freight is quite costly

6th I have noticed some sites that make barrels also sell second hand wine barrels are the whole barrels acceptable to use for aging or only to cut up for staves?

thanks ben
Pugdog1

equipment: Still spirits Turbo 500 still

Re: aging in barrels

Postby SBB » Tue Jul 16, 2013 9:31 pm

Roll Out The Barrel might be a good place to try if your in QLD, You would have to be careful oaking for that long in a small barrel as it would over oak fairly quickly I think, In short small barrels oak much more quickly than large barrels due to a greater surface area per Liter of spirit.

60-65 abv seems to be the average barrel strength most use.
SBB
Lifetime Member

equipment: (The Pelican) a 2 inch pot / stripper on 25L electric boiler interchangable with T500 reflux still...... 2 1/2 inch pot still on 50L keg (gas burner).....
3 inch Boka (half share with Draino),...... 4 inch 4 plate perforated plate Bubbler

Postby r.c.barstud » Wed Jul 17, 2013 7:15 am