Aging In Small Barrels

Discuss everything about oaking and aging here

Aging In Small Barrels

Postby Barridale » Sat Oct 05, 2013 8:28 pm

Not sure if this thread belongs here or has already been posted, but I found it useful.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AMqAunLew2w&sns=em
Cheers :handgestures-thumbupleft:
Barridale

equipment: FSD Mac 4 SSG with 50L keg boiler

Re: Aging In Small Barrels

Postby Urrazeb » Mon Mar 03, 2014 1:03 pm

That's a really good marketing strategy! :handgestures-thumbupleft:
Urrazeb

equipment: Column & pot

Postby Brendan » Mon Mar 03, 2014 1:15 pm

I've read that people thought it tasted shit after aging in their tiny barrel...just a gimmick I guess, people would still buy it.
Brendan

equipment: 4.99L Essential oil extractor

Postby TheMechwarrior » Mon Mar 03, 2014 2:42 pm

I have no experience in browns or aging yet so I'd watch that and believe it :?

From what I'm picking up around these parts you can get great results from oak staves without the great expense of an oak barrel?
TheMechwarrior

equipment: Five Star Distilling 6" neutraliser with
100L boiler

Postby Muppet » Mon Mar 03, 2014 4:40 pm

TheMechwarrior wrote:I have no experience in browns or aging yet so I'd watch that and believe it :?

From what I'm picking up around these parts you can get great results from oak staves without the great expense of an oak barrel?

Comes down to the toast/quality of the oak. I used to use hbs store chips before the last group buy of staves. The super lefort staves make a huge difference, there's a reason everyone here uses them :handgestures-thumbupleft:
Muppet

equipment: T500, 4" 4 plate copper bubbler ;)

Postby crow » Mon Mar 03, 2014 5:34 pm