Ageing bourbon and whiskey at 40%

Discuss everything about oaking and aging here

Postby Thumpa » Tue Mar 11, 2014 7:27 am

Hey guys I'm only new at this and wanted to ask a couple of questions :think:
1. Can I and what would ageing my whiskey & bourbon do to the flavour and spirit at 40% ?
2. I have American oak and French oak staves and just wondering what other types of woods I can use to flavour and age with.?
Thank you guys very much in advance for your time and knowledge I greatly appreciate it. Hopefully soon I will no enough and experience enough that I will be able to return some helpful hints myself one day. But until then still on glass up . :handgestures-thumbupleft:
Thumpa

equipment: Have built reflux head. Finished building pot still with double thumpers

Re: Ageing bourbon and whiskey at 40%

Postby Urrazeb » Tue Mar 11, 2014 8:54 am

I found a great thread a while ago, someone had done a full aging experiment and it was very informative.. but I can't locate it.

Anyway, I personnaly step the aging process at 75% > 65% > 40%

Still playing around with times on this but it's pretty much, 1 week at 70%, 1-3 months at 65% and the rest at 40%

By the rest i mean as long as it stays in the cabinet :drool:

40% is ok but it may take longer to draw out flavours and it wont actually pick up some of the flavours 65% will
Urrazeb

equipment: Column & pot

Postby Brendan » Tue Mar 11, 2014 9:45 am

I think the main point to note is that ageing at different abv% isn't just relative to time.

Different abv% has proven to extract completely different flavours from the oak. Those flavours which are usually desired in a whiskey/whisky are obtained between 60-70%, with Bourbon pretty much always being aged at 62.5% (it can't be aged any higher to be Bourbon), and Scotch usually at around the 65% mark...

Personally, I wouldn't recommend ageing at 40% at all, but hey you might like it.
Brendan

equipment: 4.99L Essential oil extractor