Rust in new condenser

Parrots beaks, valves, condensers, and all other hardware for stilling.

Rust in new condenser

Postby vossy » Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:13 am

Hello Legends,
I recently got a new condenser and found some rust on the inside.
Will this be ok? its in the centre pipe at both ends??
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
vossy
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2016 7:10 pm
Location: Albany, WA
equipment: 2 x Essencia Super Reflux 25L
1 x 50L Keg Pot Still/Bubbler with Gin Caddy

Re: Rust in new condenser

Postby Doubleuj » Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:55 am

It’s only going to get worse, and taint your product. I’m guessing it isn’t five star?
Doubleuj
Moderator
 
Posts: 2822
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 7:15 pm
Location: rockhampton qld
equipment: 4" stainless glasser

Re: Rust in new condenser

Postby wynnum1 » Fri Mar 23, 2018 10:49 am

If they used cutting of grinding disc that was used on steel that can impregnate the stainless .
wynnum1
 
Posts: 1088
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 1:18 pm

Re: Rust in new condenser

Postby Professor Green » Fri Mar 23, 2018 11:18 am

I'd have chat to whoever you bought it from mate, it's not meant to look like that and if it doesn't leak now, will surely leak at some point in the future.

Cheers,
Prof. Green.
Professor Green
Mentor
 
Posts: 1569
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 1:10 pm
Location: Victoria
equipment: FSD 100 litre milk can with 2 x 2400W elements
FSD Neutraliser
FSD Carter Head
12 litre double boiler with 2400W element

Re: Rust in new condenser

Postby PeterC » Fri Mar 23, 2018 9:33 pm

Hi, if you cannot return it you can try to passivate it in 10% citric acid solution at temperature 65C. My workplace they have lots of stainless steel pipework and they do all of it with hot citric acid after welding. Here is an article about the process http://www.australwright.com.au/stainle ... ssivation/ It is also important to know the metal is degreased beforehand. You could use detergent or hot caustic. Caustic is common in industrial situations to get rid of machining oils and grease. Here is another article. https://www.mmsonline.com/articles/how- ... teel-parts
Cheers,
Peter C.
PeterC
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 12:20 am
Location: Perth WA
equipment: An 18gall. (80L) keg with 2x2000W elements. A 4 plate, 4 inch glass column + 500mm packed section just learning to drive. Plus other bits.

Re: Rust in new condenser

Postby warramungas » Sat Mar 24, 2018 10:26 am

Here's hoping its only surface rust and not full thickness.
warramungas
 
Posts: 1348
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 9:38 pm
Location: Nor Perth
equipment: 180 litre fermenter x 2
30 liter boiler
PDA-1
2" four plate modular bubbler
2" one meter long LM column
110 liter boiler with 25 liter (max) inline thumper
4" x 4 plate bubble cap still

Re: Rust in new condenser

Postby The Stig » Sat Mar 24, 2018 11:49 am

If you e just purchased it new RETURN it
The Stig
Site Nerd
 
Posts: 931
Images: 9
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 8:37 am
equipment: Only the Best will Do.
Mac4 SSG Bubbles of Joy

Re: Rust in new condenser

Postby mako » Sun Nov 04, 2018 7:45 am

WOW PeterC - so pleased I purchased my products instead of making them myself.
I didn't know any of this stuff. Very interesting. Thank you.
mako
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 12:39 pm
equipment: Beer brewer moving to stills as well.

Re: Rust in new condenser

Postby The Stig » Sun Nov 04, 2018 9:13 am

What was the outcome here?
The Stig
Site Nerd
 
Posts: 931
Images: 9
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 8:37 am
equipment: Only the Best will Do.
Mac4 SSG Bubbles of Joy


Return to Accessories



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Clubby, drinka and 3 guests

x