RUM HELP NEEDED

This area is for recipes that are not yet proven, use this area for experiments, recipe research and development of your own variations. Once a recipe is accepted as being good by the consensus it will be moved to the proven section.

RUM HELP NEEDED

Postby Rush006 » Fri Jul 14, 2017 4:41 pm

Hi All, Desperatly need help. Ive been making rum for a few years now and have made a lot of really great rum. Ive had no problems at all. Now for the last 7 ferments they have all been shit. All heads and tails. I have gone back to basics and sticking to the recipe to eliminate any possible problems Im doing. I sterilise my fermenters between ferments. Ive even tried boiling and clarification. I have used Lowans yeast for most of my runs . I have just bought a few different yeasts from the HB shop to rule out the yeast. My molasses has come from all different suppliers and none of it seems any good. I am putting my problem down to bad molasses at this stage. I will strip my still this weekend and wash all plates in Vit C to see if that makes a difference. Im pulling my hair out at the moment as I can not work out what is going on. the temp here in perth is a little cold but surely that can't affect flavour/ferment that much as to turn it all bad. Any advice much appreciated. I need help fast! stocks are running low. I really need to make something worth drinking. Desperate HELP!!!!

regards Rush.
Rush006

equipment: mac4 ssg

Re: RUM HELP NEEDED

Postby bluc » Fri Jul 14, 2017 4:48 pm

Your ibc was no good ? :crying-blue: i have not tracked it down but have had the same thing from heads straight to tails, also ver low yield. Thinking can only be ph or infection. But have not pinned anything down yet..
bluc
Site Donor

equipment: 2" pot with 2" shotty 400mm long 5x 1/2" on a t500 boiler.
50l keg boiler 4" still mount 4" sight glass 1" drain..
4 plate 4" bubbler, 600mm packed section

Postby Rush006 » Fri Jul 14, 2017 5:01 pm