Irish V2

This area is for recipes that are not yet proven, use this area for experiments, recipe research and development of your own variations. Once a recipe is accepted as being good by the consensus it will be moved to the proven section.

Irish V2

Postby bt1 » Sun May 12, 2013 10:32 am

Howdy,

For those of you who have been here a while you’d well know my first adventure into making a decent Irish whiskey using mainly plain crushed barley and malted barley as a sugar based wash…let’s just say it wasn’t too good. In short it was way too bitey and did kamikaze runs on your tastebuds that truly hurt.

Since realised using plain unmalted barley as the primary grain was and remains the culprit… not nice in this at all. No amount of spirit runs, months of ageing or different timbers fixed it.

I’ve been pushing along with another version for the past 7 months now and am finally happy with the results. So here it be...

Background/side issues
Spuds aren’t spuds… the high starch varieties are what we need here so simply put don’t use waxy skinned or red potatoes due to their lower starch levels and higher water content. That leaves you with the normal plain white spud we see mostly…great news!

Spuds when boiled and preferably peeled(cos peeled it releases more starch) break down into Amylose another glucose bit but the good news is it’s broken down by our good mate the enzyme α-amylase found in malted grains. Btw human saliva has one of the highest levels of Alpha but I wouldn’t recommend a spit into the pot :handgestures-thumbdown:

The bill
The ideal mix depends on your prefs. I’ve tried several ratios but have settled on 1 which to me balances yield and flavour and efforts. You could choose to use more spuds/malt and less sugar.
60lt fermenter
4kg white spuds
2Lt Barson Galaxy pale malted barley or just malted barley. I use Galaxy as it's one of highest diastatic malts (makes more sugars if you like)
6 kg sugar
1/2 of DAP and Epsom salts

Process