Mandarines

This area is for recipes that are not yet proven, use this area for experiments, recipe research and development of your own variations. Once a recipe is accepted as being good by the consensus it will be moved to the proven section.

Mandarines

Postby Yummyrum » Sun Jun 23, 2013 10:19 pm

Mandarine trees full and almost at end so thought I'd have a go.

was hoping for a Controu type of liqueur .WineGlass had suggested suspending above the alcohol but as all other recipes soak fruit in alcohol,I figued I must have miss-understood .

So anyway having shit loads of Mandas to play with I've done this .

900mL Neutral at @ 93%
900ml hot filtered water
1 cup sugar dissolved in above water then added to neutral
About 12 mandarines broken into sections and skins of 2 manderines

Its just what I felt was OK.I've never done anything like this before so what ever will be.

Please let me know if you have any other Ideas as I still have plenty of Mandarines and neutral ATM
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Yummyrum

equipment: Did use Still Spirits Reflux
Now use 50l Keg with Pot head for Rum and Neutral stripping runs on gas .
LM/VM head with 1m packed 2" on Still Spirits boiler for Neutrals.

Mandarines

Postby Sam. » Mon Jun 24, 2013 7:47 am

Don't reckon you want any of the white bit of the skin in there (pith)

Usually just zest some of the outside of the skin
Sam.
Lifetime Member

equipment: Original FSD 5 plate 4 inch modular bubbler SSG with hand crafted plates and parrot by Mac.
18 Gal boiler.
2 x 2400W elements and power controller.

Mandarines

Postby BackyardBrewer » Mon Jun 24, 2013 8:05 am

That's going to be really bitter. Really all you want is the essential oils from the skin.
BackyardBrewer
Site Donor

equipment: Solid Copper Love Machine (Plated column bubbler), hand made with love by a forum member
50L keg boiler with 2 x 2400w elements