stripping run with a T500

This area is for topics only related to home brew shop products for distilling, a place for the novice to use as a safe haven from the anti brew shop brigade.

stripping run with a T500

Postby beaull » Sun Jul 02, 2017 4:19 pm

To do a stripping run with a T500 do I remove all the copper and stainless steel
beaull
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2017 4:23 pm
equipment: still spirits t500
still spirits boiler 25 years old

Re: stripping run with a T500

Postby bluc » Sun Jul 02, 2017 4:25 pm

Cant strip with a t500 it will melt the plastic bits..
bluc
 
Posts: 5490
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 5:47 pm
Location: sunshine coast
equipment: 2" pot with 2" shotty 400mm long 5x 1/2" on a t500 boiler.
50l keg boiler 4" still mount 4" sight glass 1" drain..
4 plate 4" bubbler, 600mm packed section

Re: stripping run with a T500

Postby TasSpirits » Sun Jul 02, 2017 4:33 pm

Run it as fast as you can, then once you have enough low wines, run it real slow. :handgestures-thumbupleft:
TasSpirits
 
Posts: 1147
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 7:11 am
Location: Tasmania
equipment: Some FSD Gear as well as some home-made

Re: stripping run with a T500

Postby Wineleader » Sun Jul 02, 2017 6:28 pm

I found the best option for the T500 was to purchase the copper T500 pot still and do multiple strip runs before swapping back to the T500 reflux still. Works for me though there is a cost involved.
The advantage of purchasing the pot still is you can produce whisky and other spirits.
Wineleader
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2017 7:39 pm
Location: Macedon Rangers, Vic
equipment: T500 and matching pot still

Re: stripping run with a T500

Postby Kenster » Sun Jul 02, 2017 6:33 pm

cheapest way, unscrew the col from the lid. Get some 2'' copper and a few fittings( there are heaps of links around) and build up a simple pot for yourself.(And a condenser)That way you have 2 stills which will work just fine.
Kenster
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 8:53 pm
equipment: Still Spirits... turbo 500...retired.(Boiler retained, added 3kw element with variable temp)
RPG...3''x1200mm LM/VM combo...400mm double wound coldie
3''x1200mm copper pot & shares leibig from combo.

Re: stripping run with a T500

Postby wynnum1 » Mon Jul 03, 2017 8:40 am

Kenster wrote:cheapest way, unscrew the col from the lid. Get some 2'' copper and a few fittings( there are heaps of links around) and build up a simple pot for yourself.(And a condenser)That way you have 2 stills which will work just fine.

Or you could buy a second lid and use that with the simple pot.
wynnum1
 
Posts: 1065
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 1:18 pm


Return to Distillation for beginners using HBS products



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

x