Automatic Sectioning of the wash in a Reflux Still

This area is to be used for submitting plans, referencing and conversations related to building stills and accessories.

Postby Tim » Sat Apr 20, 2013 6:36 pm

Hi everyone, I'm new to this also, I'm an ex-Army electronics technician, I wonder if this would work?
Where you have the digital thermo at the condenser in a reflux still, how about have it automatically switch solenoid valves opening and closing at the selected alcohol vaporising temperature points of the wash to separate the alcohols into different lines, this would be the same as you doing the cuts, but you would not have to monitor the run till the end, which you could have the boiler heater cut off at water temp or higher, depending on what you required out of the wash.
You would need a very precise digital thermo, and depending on what alcohol's you wanted, would go hand in hand with how many solenoid runs you would need ...

Acetone 56.5C (134F)
Methanol (wood alcohol) 64C (147F)
Ethyl acetate 77.1C (171F)
Ethanol 78C (172F)
2-Propanol (rubbing alcohol) 82C (180F)
1-Propanol 97C (207F)
Water 100C (212F)
Butanol 116C (241F)
Amyl alcohol 137.8C (280F)
Furfural 161C (322F)

These figures would have to be adjusted to your location above sea level ...
LOL I could write a phone app that would contact you when the run was complete ... and to give you progress updates of the separated alcohol quantities etc thus allowing you to sit back and get pissed ... lol :P
Tim

equipment: 5 Plate Bubbler

Re: Automatic Sectioning of the wash in a Reflux Still

Postby blond.chap » Sat Apr 20, 2013 7:09 pm

Sorry mate I don't think it works like that, components won't separate based purely on condenser temperature. If you want a way to separate fractions you could try building a continuous column, but that wouldn't be very easy.
blond.chap

equipment: Paris Stillton (4" perforated bubbler)

Postby SBB » Sat Apr 20, 2013 7:10 pm