Hello & Cheers from Tassie

Say Hi and introduce yourself

Hello & Cheers from Tassie

Postby ppruss » Wed Jan 11, 2017 4:36 pm

Hello everyone!
Paul here and I'm not new to distilling or brewing, though a long time since I've distilled, and I'm interested in getting back into it.
I've been brewing beer for about 25 years and have done everything from kit & kilo to full on all grain and keging.

I started out distilling in the early 2000's with a simple pot still and a copper column. I made quite a bit of product and messed around with efficiency by lengthening the column, adding SS pot scrubbers, etc. In the end I got worried about safely (the process, not the quantity :-D ) consuming my product and gave it up. Now with the advent of the Air Still I'm thinking about getting back into it. So, I thought that AD might be the place to absorb the collective distillers experience and see what 15 years of progress has produced.

Slàinte!
ppruss

equipment: Noob with a 5S basic pot on a 50l keg boiler.

Re: Hello & Cheers from Tassie

Postby OzzyChef » Wed Jan 11, 2017 4:47 pm

Welcome mate! My folks live in Tassie it's a beautiful place!
I suggest scrapping the idea of the airstill and going back to your old ways with the pot still! They are awesome and are still producing awesome products since you gave it a rest.
Stay still
Ozzy
OzzyChef

equipment: 2 inch copper pot still and 2" copper offset reflux still
30l turbo boilervand 50l keg boiler under construction

Postby ppruss » Wed Jan 11, 2017 5:06 pm

OzzyChef wrote:Welcome mate! My folks live in Tassie it's a beautiful place!
I suggest scrapping the idea of the airstill and going back to your old ways with the pot still! They are awesome and are still producing awesome products since you gave it a rest.
Stay still
Ozzy

Hey Ozzy, thanks for the cheeri-o!