Hi there from nw sydney.

Say Hi and introduce yourself

Hi there from nw sydney.

Postby scottyd72 » Fri May 12, 2017 8:01 pm

Hi there, Scott here. Im new to distilling but ive been reading about it for years and know mates that are into it and I find it fascinating to be able to distill. So ive finally decided to have a go at it.
I've layby'd a reflux column and boiler setup and should have it in 3 to 4 weeks time.
I dont mind a drop of jim beam or recently have been enjoying canadian club.
A mate of mine did a bottle of JB years ago using the wood chips and it was the smoothest bottle of borbon ive ever had, so im hoping to recreate that...
scottyd72

equipment: Bokakob LM reflux with homemade cooling coil. Building a 3" bubbler...

Re: Hi there from nw sydney.

Postby Lowie » Fri May 12, 2017 8:08 pm

Welcome mate. What kind of kit have you ordered? I'm a bit partial to bourbon too... :handgestures-thumbupleft:
Lowie

equipment: 4", 4 plate "Frankenfurter" copper bubbler and blockhead on a 50L 3000W electric boiler, 10000W controller - don't even know why I need that much, all grain HERMS system through 18G HLT keg and 50L mash tun.

Postby andybear » Fri May 12, 2017 8:25 pm

Well done mate for jumping in. You will not be disappointed. I've found that it takes a bit of time for bourbon to mature on oak but the results are amazing. Try the cfw in the tried and true area.
andybear

equipment: T500 has been retired and the 4" glass bubbler, has been christened. With 50 litre inverted keg, two 2400watt elements, 100mm sight glass and 100mm column connection and 1/2" drain. And all resting on a hexagonal frame with lockable castor wheels.

Postby Professor Green » Fri May 12, 2017 8:29 pm

Welcome Scott.

Get yourself a wash or two going now so they're ready to run when your new toy arrives :handgestures-thumbupleft:

Cheers,
Prof. Green.
Professor Green

equipment: FSD 100 litre milk can with 2 x 2400W elements
FSD Neutraliser
FSD Carter Head