Hi all

Say Hi and introduce yourself

Hi all

Postby Pottsy1985 » Mon Jul 31, 2017 4:34 pm

G'day everyone,

I'm 32, live in Canberra. I'm a noob to this hobby, I haven't even made a wash yet! Decided to read these forums for a couple of days before I started. I picked up a T500 before reading these forums :violence-smack: . I see a lot of people don't like them and others do, so hopefully it will work out well for me.
Fermentation temperature control is the only thing I'm worried about currently. Being winter in Canberra it can get very cold overnight, and I don't think I can hold out until the warmer months as I want to get into it and start learning now!
My plan is to make the first wash with all the turbo "shit" that come with the kit as I don't want to throw it out. Then I will get straight into the TPW :handgestures-thumbupleft:
I also think doing the turbo first and TPW 2nd will show me how much better the quality is in the TPW.
I'm not to fussy when it comes to spirits, I'll drink almost anything. My favourite drops are JD, Turkey and Bundy Rum.

Well that's all from me, thanks for taking the time to read and you should hear from me soon.
Pottsy1985

equipment: T500 Copper reflux head and alembic pot head

Re: Hi all

Postby woodduck » Mon Jul 31, 2017 4:42 pm

Welcome Pottsy,

Sounds like your onto it. The T500 will be ok and will help you get your feet wet. Give this thread a read, it will help alot
viewtopic.php?f=8&t=10483

As for heating your ferments, there's a few threads on here that can help out, even just wrapping it in a blanket will help. You may find your turbo may not even need it, they run pretty hot.

Good luck mate :handgestures-thumbupleft:
woodduck
Lifetime Member

equipment: 4 plate 6" copper bubbler, 6 plate 4" glass bubbler with 500mm packed section three way thumper sitting on a 50 ltr keg boiler with 6000watts, 2" pot still and a 2" boka.

Postby bluc » Mon Jul 31, 2017 4:44 pm