Newbie here

Say Hi and introduce yourself

Newbie here

Postby Lunar_Glow » Mon Sep 04, 2017 4:07 pm

Hi - Newbie here. I make beer - I grow grapes and make wine. I now want to start home distilling. My goal is to make some decent gin - in the style of 4 pillars or MGC. Any suggestions as to what would be a first up, commercially available set-up to get started? reflux or Pot (I will also be distilling grapes/wine as well as whiskey).Thanks for any advice
Lunar_Glow

equipment: Nothing yet

Re: Newbie here

Postby bluc » Mon Sep 04, 2017 4:26 pm

Bubbler will be the best bet be able to do all that you want..you can do it cheaper by building a pot and a reflux still but they will be a lot slower..
bluc
Site Donor

equipment: 2" pot with 2" shotty 400mm long 5x 1/2" on a t500 boiler.
50l keg boiler 4" still mount 4" sight glass 1" drain..
4 plate 4" bubbler, 600mm packed section

Postby orcy » Mon Sep 04, 2017 4:27 pm

Welcome. If you wanna make gin, you need to be able to make good neutral to start with. A bubbler with an added packed section would work. Or a boka and a pot still. But you will definitely need both a reflux and a brown spirit still. Preference on this forum would almost certainly lean to a 5 plate bubbler with packed section when you want neutral.
orcy

equipment: Old style T500 style still. honestly, I dont even remember who made it anymore
4 inch soon to be modular pot.

Postby Lunar_Glow » Tue Sep 05, 2017 10:58 am

Thanks Guys - I appreciate it, cheers
Lunar_Glow

Postby woodduck » Tue Sep 05, 2017 11:33 am

Hi mate, welcome :greetings-waveyellow:
woodduck
Lifetime Member

equipment: 4 plate 6" copper bubbler, 6 plate 4" glass bubbler with 500mm packed section three way thumper sitting on a 50 ltr keg boiler with 6000watts, 2" pot still and a 2" boka.

Postby Wineleader » Wed Sep 06, 2017 4:39 pm