Hi from Lockyer Valley

Say Hi and introduce yourself

Hi from Lockyer Valley

Postby TGB » Thu Dec 21, 2017 12:45 am

I have been distilling for 25 years using an introductory type Still from a brew shop. Im looking to step up my game & Im here for info & help to build a new Still for a Keg I found. I brew 50L washes with Turbo yeasts & have a 25L boiler. Generally I only get 75% unless I double still. It takes a long time. I wouldn't mind doing some whisky if I can learn how.
TGB

equipment: Not a very good one! That's why I'm here.

Re: Hi from Lockyer Valley

Postby woodduck » Thu Dec 21, 2017 6:56 am

Welcome mate :greetings-waveyellow:

You've come to the right place. There is bulk information here on all things distilling. Take your time and have a read before you rush in. There are a few different links in my signature that might be of interest. The beginners section is a great read even if you are an old hat especially if most of your knowledge has come from the home brew shop or the turbo companies, there is a whole new world beyond them :handgestures-thumbupleft: . Then have a look at the different still types before deciding on what still to build or buy.

Enjoy the new hobby :handgestures-thumbupleft:
woodduck
Lifetime Member

equipment: 4 plate 6" copper bubbler, 6 plate 4" glass bubbler with 500mm packed section three way thumper sitting on a 50 ltr keg boiler with 6000watts, 2" pot still and a 2" boka.

Postby Sam. » Thu Dec 21, 2017 7:26 am

Welcome here mate :handgestures-thumbupleft:

Your perspective on distilling is about to change dramatically, in a good way :D
Sam.
Lifetime Member

equipment: Original FSD 5 plate 4 inch modular bubbler SSG with hand crafted plates and parrot by Mac.
18 Gal boiler.
2 x 2400W elements and power controller.

Postby Professor Green » Thu Dec 21, 2017 7:33 am

Welcome TGB.

There's a lot of really good info available here.