Say Hi and introduce yourself

Postby Damo83 » Mon Jan 01, 2018 9:15 pm

Hello all and happy new year.

I'm new to distilling and purchased a T500 like many new to the hobby. I have ditched the turbo rubbish and have been having good results running low temps with TPW and FFV which I much prefer. I have been researching some DIY pot still options and am planning to build a 2" modular. I am planning to purchase a voltage regulator to dial down the temps when running a pot and am also considering getting a temp controller for all grain mashing. There are some great products out there but I'm sure with a bit of modification and perseverance I can make the T500 work for me. All in all it was paid for three washes in and I'm making some interesting gear but my real passion is whisky and other dark spirits so hence the pot build.

I decided to join as there is some really helpful info to be found on this site and I look forward to discussing the finer points of distillation in the future.
Damo83

equipment: Modded T500

Re: New Member

Postby hillzabilly » Mon Jan 01, 2018 9:25 pm

G-day mate welcome aboard,sounds like ya moveing in the right direction to make some top quality hooch.cheers hillzabilly :handgestures-thumbupleft:
hillzabilly

equipment: 10 gallon OZARK pot still ,2inch and 3inch Nixon Stone coloum stills ,10 and 18 gal beer keg boilers,5gal thumper keg.And the one and only 4" Five Star Southern Cross .

Postby woodduck » Mon Jan 01, 2018 10:32 pm

G'day mate and welcome aboard.

Sounds like a good plan, your on the right track :handgestures-thumbupleft:

The T500 will be ok for your neutral stuff and they sound like their ok just a bit slow that's all.
woodduck
Lifetime Member

equipment: 4 plate 6" copper bubbler, 6 plate 4" glass bubbler with 500mm packed section three way thumper sitting on a 50 ltr keg boiler with 6000watts, 2" pot still and a 2" boka.

Postby Sam. » Tue Jan 02, 2018 8:37 am

Welcome here mate :handgestures-thumbupleft:
Sam.