Hello im just starting out

Say Hi and introduce yourself

Hello im just starting out

Postby effque » Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:35 pm

Hey my name is matt im from brisbane recently bought a 2nd hand still (turbo 500) and have been browsing the forum i made an account so i could see the pictures on some of the posts i've been reading and no doubt i'll be posting in the future

put together my first wash (TPW) 2 days ago using macstills TPW wash in Tried and Proven after watching a few videos on youtube i assumed citric acid was off of a lemon or something it wasnt until i watched a few more that i realised it was something you could buy in a bottle so instead of the 1/4 tablespoon of citric acid i used a small size lemon (assuming it does the same job as ive seen other recipe's use a lemon instead of acid

im reading more and more and i think i've got the basics down and have everything sorted to run this wash through when it finishes bubbling

i think im going to clean the condenser out before i run this wash and clean the saddles i havent seen any posts about doing that the guy at the homebrew shop told me to get some citric acid and vinegar is it as simple as just cleaning the saddles in the pipe in hot water and putting them back in afterwards

also at the end of a tpw wash i know there isnt a heap of gunk you have to filter like a turbo wash but is there anything that i have to slightly try to filter as it goes into my still or is it straight from the fermenter bucket into the still and away it goes ?
effque

equipment: 50L keg boiler 4" sight glass 2" copper modular reflux/pot 2x2200W elements 2" shotty
2 beer kegs for storage or low wine collection
35L of 5L glass jars
25L french oak barrel made from an ex muscat barrel

Re: Hello im just starting out

Postby Doubleuj » Wed Mar 21, 2018 3:43 pm

Gday mate welcome here, a lemon will do the same thing but yes, most of us use citric acid from the supermarket, it’ll be near the flour/ baking section.