Ignorance is my name!!

Say Hi and introduce yourself

Ignorance is my name!!

Postby Natjac » Thu May 24, 2018 8:19 pm

Hi everyone,

What is the term for someone below a newbie?? Whatever it is, that is what describes me! I am a complete novice from the Sunny Coast and stumbled on the forum by accident I guess.

I was looking at a local Home Brew Shop and saw a very shiny and good looking Turbo 500! I went in and asked a few questions and was given the spiel and was very tempted to buy on the spot. "Hmmm, maybe I should find a bit more about it" I thought. So home I went and cranked up the inter web and off I went. Suffice to say, my wanderings (not completely directly I might add) led me here and to this forum. After a while I have learnt that the smartest thing I did that day at the HBS was not to buy anything!

So now I am thoroughly bamboozled, but still interested in learning a whole lot more about the dark arts of distilling.

I will be spending the next few weeks reading as much as I can and trying to decide on an appropriate starting point that will allow me to kick me off on a learning curve without knocking my 'spirits' down too much!!

At this point my manufacturing skills (in terms of building any sort of still) are non existent, so I will be considering the best way to go to buy something relatively "off the shelf" to start with.

Looking forward to learning a whole lot more and trying to shorten my list of completely ridiculous questions to an acceptable minimum.

Natjac.
Natjac

equipment: 5 star Pot Still
Boka Reflux Still
50L Keg Boiler

Re: Ignorance is my name!!

Postby The Stig » Thu May 24, 2018 8:24 pm

Hi Natjac
Your in the right place mate
Take your time and ask away
Patients is the key to this fine art
The Stig
Site Nerd

equipment: Only the Best will Do.
Mac4 SSG Bubbles of Joy

Postby dans.brew » Thu May 24, 2018 8:32 pm

Welcome mate! :greetings-waveyellow: