A Wimmera Whiskey is my goal

Say Hi and introduce yourself

A Wimmera Whiskey is my goal

Postby BrendanS » Tue Jul 10, 2018 1:02 pm

G'day all. I am new to this site and to distilling. In fact I'm fairly new to whiskey drinking but love the stuff now. I am working my way through the Scotch whiskeys at the moment and have even had a Japanese one. Love em. I am a full time woodturner and live near Horsham in Western Vic. I know plenty of farmers who grow Barley so I started to think that it would be a great project to make a Wimmera Whiskey including water from the Grampians National Park ( I will get it once it has left the NP). I have started my research on the topic of making whiskey and feel confident I can do it. But I need the equipment and am finding it hard to find a supplier of good quality stills etc. So here I am on this forum seeking some advice on who can help me source good equipment. Thank you, in anticipation of some good advice.
BrendanS

equipment: I have nothing at the time of registering

Re: A Wimmera Whiskey is my goal

Postby Nathan02 » Tue Jul 10, 2018 1:45 pm

Do some research mate and you'll find all the advice you'll ever need to quality whiskey here. To fast track you, you want to build yourself a copper pot still or a 4 plate bubbler.

Enjoy
Nathan02

equipment: 6" 4 plate bubbler with optional packed section.

Postby woodduck » Tue Jul 10, 2018 3:24 pm

G'day mate and welcome along.

My advice is go with 5star stills, they are the best you'll get. They are currently going though a change of ownership but I'm sure they'll be back up and running in no time. It will give you time to research a bit more and get everything prepped ready to go.

Good luck mate and I'm sure you'll make some darn fine whiskey very soon :handgestures-thumbupleft:
woodduck
Lifetime Member