Just joined

Say Hi and introduce yourself

Just joined

Postby Scott » Sun Jul 15, 2018 12:38 pm

Hi,

Just joined. I have been all grain brewing for a few years with a Grainfather and want to get into distilling. My drinks of choice, other than my homebrew is scotch and gin however I'm sure when I start producing I'll get requests for vodka from my kids.
I prefer quality over quantity.
I enjoy the science behind brewing and distilling (I'm an engineer I can't help it). I've read "The Joy of home distilling" to get an understanding of the basics and would be keen to get recommendations for further reading.
I'd prefer to start with the raw ingredients to produce the drink I want rather than add an essence.
I don't have a shortage of space.
I don't have the metalwork skills to make a still so I need to buy one and I'd prefer electric over gas.
Budget: I've had a look at some of the cheaper stills and read a few posts. I would prefer to jump in at the deep end and get the right gear from day 1 rather than cheap and upgrade when I discover I can't produce the quality I want so l haven't fixed a budget. If I can't afford to do it to a high standard then I'll wait until I can.

I'm keen to get recommendations on equipment and budget.

Regards
Scott
Scott

equipment: Grainfather, no distilling equipment yet

Re: Just joined

Postby The Stig » Sun Jul 15, 2018 1:42 pm

Hi Scott,
Welcome sounds like your well on your way .
We have a huge library that you’ve probably already found.
Enjoy mate :handgestures-thumbupleft:
The Stig
Site Nerd

equipment: Only the Best will Do.
Mac4 SSG Bubbles of Joy

Postby hillzabilly » Sun Jul 15, 2018 2:59 pm