Stepping it up

Say Hi and introduce yourself

Stepping it up

Postby Westshine » Tue Jan 01, 2019 1:16 pm

HI Guys, I've been distilling for a few years. Started on sugar washes with HBS gear, mixing with cordials. I then moved onto gin, AG corn whiskey, barley and recently rum, no more cordials. I've been running a 2" 25ltr pot still and it's been killing me with 8hr+ spirit runs, so, I recently purchased a 4' bubbler (waiting on delivery right now) and am looking forward to more AG mashes.
Having never used a bubbler its been a big help going over threads on this site.
Westshine

equipment: 4" x 4 plates, 4" Pot / Whiskey dome - 100ltr boiler

Re: Stepping it up

Postby Professor Green » Tue Jan 01, 2019 1:54 pm

Welcome to AD Westshine.

I reckon you're going to love that bubbler when it turns up.

Cheers,
Prof. Green.
Professor Green

equipment: FSD 100 litre milk can with 2 x 2400W elements
FSD Neutraliser
FSD Carter Head
12 litre double boiler with 2400W element

Postby hillzabilly » Tue Jan 01, 2019 1:59 pm

Firstly welcome to the forum for another westy ,check out the running bubbler thread for plenty of info.cheers hillzabilly :handgestures-thumbupleft:
Last edited by hillzabilly on Tue Jan 01, 2019 2:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
hillzabilly

equipment: 10 gallon OZARK pot still ,2inch and 3inch Nixon Stone coloum stills ,10 and 18 gal beer keg boilers,5gal thumper keg.And the one and only 4" Five Star Southern Cross .

Postby dans.brew » Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:28 pm

Welcome Westshine!
I'm hearing ya with the long spirit runs... from someone who started with a 2" pot as well. You will love being able to comfortably do a spirit run in an arvo without having to rush around trying to get done.
Good luck with your new toy when it arrives! :dance:
dans.brew

equipment: Pure Distilling Reflux Still
2" Pot Still with lieberg
4" x 4 plates Bubbler with 2"bubble caps on 50ltr keg boiler

Postby Westshine » Thu Jan 10, 2019 10:25 pm