Another newbie

Say Hi and introduce yourself

Another newbie

Postby greybeard » Tue Jan 15, 2019 1:05 pm

G'day and thanks for letting me join this group. I am fairly new to spirit brewing and
have been using Still Spirits product, Turbo yeast etc through a 25l fermenter and an Airstill.
As we are full time greynomads I find the Airstill OK (takes up little space in the van) but I am
looking more to trying tpw or kale washes instead of brewshop products.
Eventually when we settle down in a house somewhere then a proper still will be the go!
Cheers
greybeard

equipment: airstil and 25l fermenter

Re: Another newbie

Postby bluc » Tue Jan 15, 2019 1:13 pm

Welcome aboard :handgestures-thumbupleft:
bluc
Site Donor

equipment: 2" pot with 2" shotty 400mm long 5x 1/2" on a t500 boiler.
50l keg boiler 4" still mount 4" sight glass 1" drain..
4 plate 4" bubbler, 600mm packed section

Postby woodduck » Tue Jan 15, 2019 2:38 pm

Welcome mate :greetings-waveyellow:

For the air still I would look more to the cornflakes, weetbix or nutrigrain washes as the air still effectively is a pot still. The TPW may be a bit hard to get clean enough though it. You will find you won't need to add the essences for whiskeys then :handgestures-thumbupleft:

BTW I'm jealous that you live on the road mate, enjoy your adventures.
woodduck
Lifetime Member

equipment: 4 plate 6" copper bubbler, 6 plate 4" glass bubbler with 500mm packed section three way thumper sitting on a 50 ltr keg boiler with 6000watts, 2" pot still and a 2" boka.

Postby Fatguts » Tue Jan 15, 2019 4:32 pm

G'day. Im new to this site myself. Ive got the grey but still working on the nomad part. Are you running the air still from 12 volt and inverter or just using 240 volt mains power. I like the concept of making spirit whilst travelling around.
Fatguts