Total Newbie

Say Hi and introduce yourself

Total Newbie

Postby Mitcon » Sun Jan 27, 2019 2:08 pm

Hello all,
Total newbie from Adelaide thinking of starting out, I know pretty much nothing about stills or distilling for that matter so I'm certain I'll have a ton of reading on these forums which I thank you all in advance for. All I do know is I like drinking the stuff lol, I think I'll be going for a reflux type to make neutral as all the family enjoy different drinks and cocktails etc. I might one day want to try doing mashes at a later point in time as I do love bourbon (the uncle jessie recipe already has my interest) so I may also get a pot type later on.

I'm most likely going to start out with maybe the T500 (I know I can hear y'all already, the mistake most noobs make) reflux beginners kit as it has everything needed. I'm not in any rush though as there's lots to read and I need to save/find monies first :crying-blue: . So that's about it for now, just a "G'Day" and I'm lurking/reading and want to thank you all in advance for the information and help you share.

I certainly will be asking some really daft noob questions at times also, heck first one is what type of water is best used downunder? Adelaide water "shudder", maybe spring water would be better lol. I'll keep other questions till I'm reading through the appropriate sections :mrgreen:

Cheers Mitcon
Mitcon

equipment: Stainless Steel T500 with 25L boiler and a 50L keg waiting

Re: Total Newbie

Postby Arismac » Sun Jan 27, 2019 2:27 pm

Welcome Mitcon,