Gday from Gippsland

Say Hi and introduce yourself

Gday from Gippsland

Postby Docjango » Sun Aug 25, 2019 9:23 am

Hey there,

An absolute newbie here. Recently, semi retired musician. Went and did a short distilling course at my local HBS and currently going through the process of discovering how I might make good whisky. Looking forward to the journey ahead and hopefully I can lean on you guys for a bit of guidance.
I've done my first still run and it was rather challenging, but have discovered that being on tank water has it's challenges.
Starting fairly basic (yeah i bought the T500) I hope to upgrade as I learn.

Cheers
Doc
Docjango

equipment: 50 litre converted Keg Boiler
Vodka/Gin Set up -5 plate 4" Bubbler "Ethel"
Whisky Set up - Two Plate/Whiskey helmet/Witches hat

Re: Gday from Gippsland

Postby Sam. » Sun Aug 25, 2019 10:23 am

Welcome mate.

I would be very wary as to the information a HBS gives you as it’s usually driven to sell you the most expensive products that are not necessary such as turbo yeast, turbo carbon, turbo clear, filtering carbon etc.
Sam.
Lifetime Member

equipment: Original FSD 5 plate 4 inch modular bubbler SSG with hand crafted plates and parrot by Mac.
18 Gal boiler.
2 x 2400W elements and power controller.

Postby dans.brew » Sun Aug 25, 2019 11:24 am

Gday mate!
Welcome to the wonderful world of distillation :happy-partydance:
A simple pot still and a run or 2 of bwko or a macwhiskey will get you where you want to be... and of course, doing good cuts.
Id be fairly sure the hbs didn't mention about cuts when you got your still. :handgestures-thumbdown:
Have a gander in the newbies corner, you will find what you need in there. :handgestures-thumbupleft:
dans.brew

equipment: Pure Distilling Reflux Still
2" Pot Still with lieberg
4" x 4 plates Bubbler with 2"bubble caps on 50ltr keg boiler

Postby Professor Green » Sun Aug 25, 2019 11:26 am

Welcome Doc.

:text-+1: On what Sam stated.