Rookie from Melb

Say Hi and introduce yourself

Rookie from Melb

Postby fox » Fri May 15, 2020 9:46 pm

Hi All,

I'm new to the distilling hobby and by the amount of reading I've been doing I just can't wait to start. The whole epidemic rubbish has made me think about what I would like to do to keep myself occupied. Well my scotch consumption increased so I thought lets find a way to complement this. So I stumbled over distilling. After reading up obviously I came across the commercial stills so I bought myself a Pure Distilling Reflux package. I know this produces neutrals as I am happy to flavour with essence (apologies to anyone I just offended there, please remember I'm a rookie). Unfortunately, (or fortunately as I will get to in a minute), there is a huge demand for the still so I would have to wait until the start of June before it is delivered. I couldn't help myself as I was going crazy working from home so I ventured down to the local brewery store and I got myself a fermenter and yep, apologies once again, a turbo wash. So I got it all set up and fermenting away. Then I came across this website, so I went and bought another fermenter and put down a TPW.
So now I play the waiting game. I continue to read up and educate myself. I then read all the comments on here about equipment and I start to doubt myself. Yeah i'd love to own a bubbler or the mod kit as well as the milk can boiler, but in honesty, should I just start with the commercial equipment just to see if this hobby is for me and to learn about cuts etc?