G'day - double distilling a TPW

Say Hi and introduce yourself

G'day - double distilling a TPW

Postby Oki » Mon Mar 08, 2021 4:32 pm

Hello, being a Newbie here, I am not sure if I am in the right place to post this but I have a question ?
I have a 30L copper still, and I double strip TPW and I was thinking of buying a stainless steel still as when I use the copper still the spirits have a funny after taste which is not good for Gin.
Would love to hear your thoughts.
Oki

equipment: Reflux Still

Re: double distilling a TPW

Postby wynnum1 » Mon Mar 08, 2021 4:40 pm

How often do you use the copper still because copper will get corrosion on it and the longer you leave between runs may need a cleaning run .
wynnum1

Postby Oki » Tue Mar 09, 2021 4:49 pm

Hi Wynnum 1
I have just started brewing again and have made approx 6 brews from memory. I have had the still for 6 years and have never cleaned it. The guy at the Brew Shop at Torrensville (not sure where you are located) mentioned that maybe I should look at getting a stainless steel one to stop the after taste that I seem to be getting. I do not know how to do a cleaning run, would you be so kind as to tell me what I have to do please.
So would there be any advantage in purchasing a stainless steel still ? I would love to hear your advice please.
Many thanks
Oki
Oki

Postby BradM » Tue Mar 09, 2021 5:19 pm

Put a mix of half water and half white vinegar in the pot and clean every part in it. Then assemble the still and run it without the condensor - you want hot vinegar vapour to get in everywhere.
After it has been boiling for 5-10 minutes, turn it off and let the parts cool. Dump the vinegar mix and clean everything with cool water.
BradM

equipment: Pure Distilling boka. 1st edition.

Re: G'day - double distilling a TPW

Postby Sam. » Tue Mar 09, 2021 7:10 pm

G'day mate, I have split these posts off and made your very own welcome thread, so welcome!!