Howdy

Say Hi and introduce yourself

Howdy

Postby Skitz08 » Fri Jan 06, 2023 10:59 am

Newbie here from SEQLD doing some research.

Bought a T500 thinking it would be interesting to learn how to make my own whiskey, naively went to the HBS thinking this would be the best place for advice and was sold a great kit with turbo yeast kit, a filter, granulated carbon and a T500 in stainless steel. Went home all excited followed the instructions and the few tips from the lovely gentleman at the HBS got through the process followed everything to the letter, mixed it with the essence recommended and it tasted....awful. Thought it needed some time....nope still awful. Surely I have done something wrong, back to the HBS sold another handy box of turbo and asked the questions I had a-lot met with "just follow the instructions ya cant go wrong been doing it for years". Difference essence this time cause surely thats the problem...another week of fermenting, few hours distilling and wow to my surprise...absolutely awful again!

Started reading and watching a-lot of videos and discovered that I had been taken for a ride. Found an alembic pot for my boiler for under 100 bucks on good ol marketplace! made my first UJSSM following all the guides doing stripping and spirit runs and collection what I thought smelt and tasted ok, now on my 5th generation and its getting better but still has a way too strong chemical (think pure ethanol) smell making it hard to do the cuts.

So here I am to do some more reading and research to help bring the quality of the product i am making.
Skitz08

equipment: T500, Alembic pot

Re: Howdy

Postby The Stig » Fri Jan 06, 2023 11:19 am

G’Day Skitz,
You’re in the right place mate , enjoy the rabbit hole you’re about to spiral down.
Where in SEQ are you around ?
Cheers
The Stig
Site Nerd

equipment: Only the Best will Do.
Mac4 SSG Bubbles of Joy

Postby Skitz08 » Fri Jan 06, 2023 11:31 am

Thanks mate,