hello everyone

Say Hi and introduce yourself

hello everyone

Postby Pot belly shine » Tue Feb 12, 2013 12:01 pm

Hello all, im new to the hobby. I have been reading on the forums for several months now and recently purchased Smileys book "making pure corn whiskey". I am still in the research stage of everything still ( im a fast learner and thought i could just pick out a style still and a recipe and be on my marry drunken way :teasing-tease: ) well the more i read the more i realized im lost and don't have a clue. so before i kill my self or someone else im in my 5 month of reading and searching. (3+ hrs a day reading)

So a little about myself here, Im a handy man, I know how to mig and tig weld, ive been to school for sheet metal fabrication and feel as if im a fast learner and a teachable person.
So far I have gone out and bought two stainless steel kegs, one is 15.5 gal and the is 7.5 gal. (went the legal way of doing this by the way :D ) and for the bigger keg my thoughts are to make a 2" pot still with a worm and the smaller keg doing boka or a Nixon offset.
My reasoning behind these is cause,for the pot still make whiskey, I love my whiskeys, the boka or Nixon I can also use to "strip" with and then make vodkas , etc., with.

Also I am looking for so direction or input on the best way about making "white lightning" there are just so many things on here about it that im lost and confused about it. I had lightning yearssss ago and have since been dying to make my own.

so fellas i am open to all criticism and help! thanks for the time and all the wealth of knowledge you guys have put on here :text-thankyoublue:

-Pot Belly Shine
Pot belly shine

equipment: 15.5 keg pot still, condenser undecided (reflux boka, or a worm w/thumper ) 7.5 reflux pot still nixion offset or boka?

Re: hello everyone

Postby Kimbo » Tue Feb 12, 2013 12:04 pm

Hi Pot Belly Shine,
sounds like your half way there already. Welcome aboard mate :handgestures-thumbupleft:
Kimbo