Hello to All

Say Hi and introduce yourself

Hello to All

Postby jordan57 » Fri Dec 20, 2013 11:18 pm

I have been stilling for 3 years. I basically have only used a pot still, and am ready to expand to something better for neutrals. This hobby has really expanded in the states in the last two years. Most people here seem to go with propane gas. It seems everyone there seems to go electric. I have just switched to electric myself and am in process of building a controller. I think the electric is much more controllable.

I hope to learn much from a new perspective here. It seems as most of you have been doing this much longer than I. I haven't got to lurk here much as of yet, and I'm curious to see what kind of recipes are in use in your neck of the woods. Most of what I make are sugar washes and sweet grain whiskies. Actually what I mainly use is Corn, Oats, Barley, and Molasses so I guess it may technically be a Rum?

I also am curious to see some of your stills as well. I will be glad to see the pictures now. I have looked at your site, but had trouble registering, and had to contact an Administrator (Mcstill) for assistance, and want to thank him for getting me going.

Hope everyone has a pleasant holiday.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
jordan57

equipment: pot still, gas and electric

Re: Hello to All

Postby Brendan » Fri Dec 20, 2013 11:34 pm

Welcome Jordan :greetings-waveyellow:

That's a nice little milk can (is that what you call them?) pot still. Looks like the perfect equipment for the style of whiskey (/rum) you've been making. Unfortunately, upgrading to neutrals usually means bigger, more expensive or complicated equipment...or you could just run through your existing still quite a few times.