Hello from sweltering South Australia

Say Hi and introduce yourself

Hello from sweltering South Australia

Postby 1pot » Wed Jan 01, 2014 11:46 pm

Hi a newbie here not sure what Iam doing as far as making spirits but I would like to get a still and have a shot.
I am considering buying a t500 or a spirit maker still I am looking for any feedback on the pros and cons of these stills if posible.
Drifta its + 40 here in my town today I live in the cooler part of the state .
Regards 1pot
1pot

equipment: A 2inch boka and 50 litr keg

Re: Hello from sweltering South Australia

Postby JayD » Wed Jan 01, 2014 11:54 pm

Welcome to the forum... :handgestures-thumbupleft: What type of drink do you like ? this will help us guide you to the apropriate type of still.
JayD

equipment: JayD's Copper Worx

Postby 1pot » Thu Jan 02, 2014 12:06 am

Sorry for the lack of info,I like a whisky now and then but all my relatives who I no doubt will be supplying drink everything from whisky to madura so I recon a pot still will be out of the question. Thats why I was looking at the T500 or the spiit maker they look the easiest for a newby to start with.
1pot
1pot

equipment: A 2inch boka and 50 litr keg

Postby Smbjk » Thu Jan 02, 2014 6:11 am

Welcome pot. I would recommend a reflux still if thats whatoyou are after to make a neutral spirit then flavor. If you are good with your hands a 2" - 3" reflux would be the way to. The boka style or vm style are quite easy to make and will only require a keg boiler which you can run on gas or electricity with a few mods.

I started with a 2" boka and keg booiler on gas cost me under $200 to start up and within a week was producing 95% pure alcohol.