Noob Bere, 1st TPW.

Say Hi and introduce yourself

Noob Bere, 1st TPW.

Postby Magoo » Sat Feb 22, 2014 9:26 pm

Big Hey to everyone, :greetings-waveyellow:

Firstly can a give a you all a massive hoorah for all the great info every one provides. I'm a noob to the distilling game, although I have been at it for about six months or so, and albeit with an Air Still, it suits my needs just fine for the moment given some constraints personally. I started down the usual Turbo path and achieved some reasonable result and it has been a great introduction to the sport, if you could call it that. After all, isn't sports meant to be fun and engaging.

It has only by reading, and reading, and reading, you get the picture... I have turned the corner and am starting to run my first TPW. Firstly, honestly, how much cheaper is this than running with the Turbo's and all the other garb that goes with it. And although it doesn't bother me that much, but the smell is pretty much negligible during a ferment as opposed to the Turbo. That's a win with the Mrs already. Secondly, this is such an easy recipe I see why you all say it's bullet proof. In saying that, I did have one small drama on the first wash as it stalled at 1040. I am using the Tried and Proven recipe found here. Easy fixed, gave it a stir, pitched some more yeast and it fired up again foaming like a rabid dog. All good in the end after 10 days with a FG of 990. Pretty bloody happy with that. :-D