Howdy!

Say Hi and introduce yourself

Howdy!

Postby Hoochrunner » Sun Mar 02, 2014 1:59 am

Hello to everyone here, I've finally decided to take a break from just reading all your words of wisdom and build myself a still! I'm new to the "liquor" side of distilling as I brewed beer for a short while a few years back but never really got into it. I've read these forums for a while now as well as other sites but I would really appreciate some advice. After taking a lot into consideration I'm leaning more towards a valved reflux system but especially one that can be easily converted to a pot still. I want to be able to distill different kinds of liquor (vodka, whiskey, bourbon, rum, etc.) and flavored ones too! So long story short, would a valved reflux "modular" design model be a good starting still for me to build? The plans seem pretty clear and easy plus the fact that I can use it both ways is a bonus. I already started on this project and soldered a few of the joints but only "dry fit" the column and still head. Please give me you opinions and thank you all in advance for any input and look forward to getting my first still up and running, cheers!
I will try to post pics soon! :text-coolphotos:
Hoochrunner

equipment: in progress of building my first, going to be a reflux/pot hybrid still

Re: Howdy!

Postby Hoochrunner » Sun Mar 02, 2014 5:30 am