New Member from the old country.

Say Hi and introduce yourself

New Member from the old country.

Postby Lawford Boy » Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:52 am

Hello from Old Blighty and Lawford Boy.

I am new to all this stilling stuff. I have had a few runs with my home made still, each one slightly different from the previous one. I keep modifying the coolant delivery of the coil and the lie-beg. I think I'm sort of where I want to be now. I have watched numerous videos on design etc, etc, and have made a reflux still with product production management, product management cooling, vapour management cooling and it seems to work quite well. Most of my ideas came from Clawhammer and Anthony Rainier. I made my still from an old copper hot water cylinder. I cut the cylinder in half, cut a section of the round out and soldered it back together to the size I wanted. This leaves me with about a third of the volume in air space before the column. The column is packed with copper mesh which I bought from the US of A. It was cheaper than buying it from the UK??? I also bought the 54mm copper pipe for the column from Ireland again this was cheaper than buying it from the UK??? I did buy the copper for my coil in the UK and wound it myself. I bought a few bits from the dreaded China we just don't make anything at a sensible price anymore. I have 5 thermostats just as interest to see what's what. One in the boiler liquid, one in the boiler vapour, one under the collection tray, one on the top of the cooling column and one on the product outlet pipe. Over kill or what? but interesting to see how each area performs. I would post a couple of photos of the monster, but I can't, or perhaps I did?
Last edited by The Stig on Tue Mar 11, 2014 8:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Fixed the pic link
Lawford Boy

equipment: Hi all.