Newbie here plenty of questions so little time

Say Hi and introduce yourself

Newbie here plenty of questions so little time

Postby mrsupraboy » Tue Mar 25, 2014 8:51 am

G'day guys and girls,

I'm new to the forums from nsw, and started making a batch on Sunday.
A bit of background is that I have been doing homebrew since December and thought hey I have have all the stuff to do spirits so why not.

Questions to all

Q1 does spirits age and get better
Q2 what is the closest essence to shivers regal(spelling wrong I know)

My understanding is that you do your wash, so added my 8 kg of dextrose and then mixed it till dissolved then added turbo yeast and let it ferment. Once fermenting is finished and the clear packet then 1 hour later added the other half of the clear packet.
24hrs later or so put into still and let it distill. Once heated up to 50 degrees Celsius add water through the top tubes and let it recirculate. Temp looking for I think is 75degrees c or 25. Can't remember. After a tiny bit open the tap of the still and let it drip into the glass you have.
Once done add water till alcohol is at 40%. Then put through carbon filter.
Then add essences.
Am I on the ball park guys
mrsupraboy

equipment: T500 urn. With custom made boka and pot still

Re: Newbie here plenty of questions so little time

Postby Zak Griffin » Tue Mar 25, 2014 9:09 am

Welcome mate :handgestures-thumbupleft:

First off... You've obviously got a good memory because that sounds about word for word like what the bloke at the home brew shop would've told you :D

To answer your first question; yes and no. Sometimes maybe. Depends on how you do it...

You say you've got a T500... Good for making vodka (neutral), not so good for making Scotch. Your turbo yeast wash isn't exactly desirable either.

EDIT: you said elsewhere that you haven't got a still yet, just the boiler? I'm sure you can build or possibly buy a pot still head for your boiler that will get you closer to making a nice scotch!