Hi from SA.... I'm a newbie

Say Hi and introduce yourself

Hi from SA.... I'm a newbie

Postby morgs1301 » Sun May 04, 2014 4:01 pm

Hi everyone !
So firstly yes I'm another from SA. I have recently purchased a Turbo 500 and have just done my first SS turbo wash. I'm a bit unsure of what's been happening as it's only been 4 days and it seems to of stopped. Also I'm super interested in these TPW as it appears this May be the way to go. If anyone can help me out with helpful tips, that would be great. I have reading many of posts on this forum and I'm amazed with most of post on how helpful people are :)

Also is it usually the go to make 40% av as I have considered going 100 proof, is this not advised??

Thank you and can't wait to get interacting with everyone and to start producing some amazing alcohol!
morgs1301

equipment: Just purchased a Turbo 500 reflux still, new to this hobby, hoping to make a quality drop.

Re: Hi from SA.... I'm a newbie

Postby crow » Sun May 04, 2014 4:21 pm

Hi morgs yep there sure is a hell of alot of croweaters joining here at he moment welcome here:handgestures-thumbupleft:
Ok well not 100% sure what you mean by your question but 100% proof equals 50% ABV. your still will produce a neutral spirit at around 93 to 95.63% ABV, that is a max of 191.26% proof, its just the nature of your still. obviously it is extremely dangerous to consume at that ABV and will require you to temper it down to an ABV that you would drink it at, most ppl water it down to around 40% ABV :-B
crow

equipment: ultra pure reflux still and a 4" 4 plate MacStill built copper bubble cap column and a 500mm scoria packed rectifying module

Postby bt1 » Sun May 04, 2014 5:28 pm

Welcome morgs,

4 days for a SS turbo depending on temp mainly and a few other issues would be about finished fermenting...needs a good day or two to stand.