Have to start somewhere...Right?

Say Hi and introduce yourself

Have to start somewhere...Right?

Postby welly » Mon Jul 07, 2014 9:23 am

Morning All, from lovely Capricorn Coast in Queensland.

The names Michael... and well after snooping around this site and other, i decided its time to sign up, as you all have a wealth of information, and am keen to learn everything i can to make a decent tasting beverage.

Little bit about me:
I am a Civil Engineer, of all the things i could've been... and I have been fairly successful in brewing beer for the last couple of years, and watching my father make spirits since i was a young lad, has inspired me to start making my own.
My father used an old hospital steriliser as the boiler, and had a custom made Stainless Steel condenser with all the bells and whistles.... Was pretty wild setup, however made some good moonshine.

I guess.. the idea behind this hobby, is that 1. I don't like paying a fortune for below average tasting spirits, 2. The stuff my mate makes, is like rocket fuel, and want to prove him that patience is virtue, and with a little time and effort, can make some good gear.. effort in = effort out.. :handgestures-thumbupleft:

Before you judge, yes i do have to start somewhere in this hobby, and well, i am in possession of a T500 Boiler and Copper Refux head. Yes it was expensive, however, to me seemed the best option for someone starting out. :o

With the still, it came with a turbo wash pack, and so that is already down.
In conjunction to this... i have already put down a WBAB wash as well... seeing as though i already had the ingredients, minus the sugar, in my pantry.

I cleaned the still out as per insructions in the "Newbies Corner", and The turbo wash will be the experimental/ other cleaning run, to ensure that i know what im doing!.

So yeah, have read a lot on this well run forum here already, and am keen to learn more and get better at this hobby, with everyone's help of course.